Messed up situation at work. Need some thoughts.

d-geek

Reaction score
I work in IT at a light manufacturing plant for the last 3 years. I work at home most of the time, but show up for all the meetings for the projects I’m working on. If the person dose not work in IT, work on the sales team, or on one of the projects I have worked on there is a good chance I do not know you.

There are a lot of people that work out of the office. They have the system set up so you can call in to the meetings and listen in. the larger meting I’m at work for I call in and blue-tooth my CI to my phone.

Today was there monthly town hall meeting. I have to speak at every town hall meeting and give updates on the projects I'm working on.

The person that was running the meeting was someone that I have never seen. He called me up to talk and after he introduced me I pulled out my phone and turned down the volume on my phone because of the delay from when I talk till I hear myself talk.

The guy flips out at me. Tells me how unprofessional it is for me to be playing with my phone when giving a presentation. I told him I was deaf. He told me he did not care and for me to put all my electronics on the table; so I pulled out both of my phones, took off my HA, my CI, and set the microphone down. I know he kept talking, but was not looking at me so I have no idea what he said.

After about 30 seconds of him rambling I decided he was just another jerk. At that point I decide why do I care. I grabbed the pointer, walked to the center of the stage, and started my 15 minute presentation in ASL. During my presentation they pulled the jerk off the stage and one of my close coworkers got on stage to get me to stop.

When I finished I was able to hear the standing ovation I got from 150 coworkers. I walked back to the table, put in my HA, CI, and grabbed my phones. The company president went up after me. He thanked me.