Looking to connect with HOH adults

Cynthia B

Reaction score
Hi, I am 58 and have a moderate to severe hearing loss, diagnosed over 2 years ago. I wear 2 hearing aids and am still having difficulty adjusting. I work in a hospital and struggle with hearing at meetings, talking on the phone. I am looking for others who would be willing to share what has worked for them. I bought an amplified phone to use at home, which worked for a while, but now I am having difficult hearing on that, also. My employer is willing to buy me needed equipment, but I don't know what to suggest. Looking forward to hearing from you!

You said you got an amphified phone but what you really need is a VOC. This will allow you to speak to whomever but at the same time "read" what the person replys to you. Also it takes a good while to adjust to hearing aids, so dont give up without a fight. Just make sure you have them re-adjusted every three months because as you wear them you will notice a change in your needs. As a matter of fact, you may find the need to go in sooner because of way they are adjusted to raise and lower amplifications. Remember, if you have not been yet told, hearing aids have many bands and each band does a seperate function. So what works for you might not for me.
While I do want to recommend equipment that your employer could get for you, the specific need is based on your position within the hospital. Nevertheless, keep posting here and we will all assist you in any way possible....Welcome to AD, smile.

:welcome: to AllDeaf forum. Have fun reading and posting all the threads here. See you around here. :wave: