learning to sign

typeingtornado19

Reaction score
just wondering, when everyone was first learning to sign, were there signs that you struggled to sign? if so what were/are they?

Started learning asl in summer of 2007. I still struggle with expressing myself in sign. :roll: My reception is a little bit better.

since i started learning tactile sign in 1995, i can't remember that far back, but i'm sure there were quite a few signs i had difficulty with.

the one thing i *do* struggle with in regards to asl are facial expressions. since i was born totally blind, it's hard for me to understand how to make them since i've never been able to see before.

one of my instructors at the local deafblind center spent some time working with me on this, but i just couldn't get the hang of signing something and making a certain facial expression at the same time.

i found that if i placed too much concentration on being able to make facial expressions, my signing suffered as a result.

having said that, i've been told that if i'm feeling a certain emotion (such as anger or excitement) while signing, people can clearly tell by my facial expression how i'm feeling. if i try to deliberately make a particular facial expression, i can't do it because i don't understand how it's supposed to look.

since i started learning tactile sign in 1995, i can't remember that far back, but i'm sure there were quite a few signs i had difficulty with.

the one thing i *do* struggle with in regards to asl are facial expressions. since i was born totally blind, it's hard for me to understand how to make them since i've never been able to see before.

one of my instructors at the local deafblind center spent some time working with me on this, but i just couldn't get the hang of signing something and making a certain facial expression at the same time.

i found that if i placed too much concentration on being able to make facial expressions, my signing suffered as a result.