Introductory Post

bexhet

Reaction score
I stumbled upon this website while researching Deaf culture. I am a hearing person. I was a little intimidated at first about posting, (still am, actually) but after a little browsing, I've noticed a few other hearing persons have joined this community. Over the past few months, I have developed an immense respect and fascination for D/deaf and hard of hearing people. I hope that by joining these forums I am showing admiration for another culture, rather than poking my nose where it doesn't belong.

A little bit about myself:
I'm a student of Northern Michigan University, on the verge of completing my Junior year. I have just finished a 12-week introductory course in American Sign Language. In addition to learning a fairly small ASL vocabulary (I can sign my name, ask a person how he/she is doing, and inform you that 12 years ago, my grandmother pooped her pants) I learned a good deal about Deaf history and culture.

Other than that, I haven't had any significant exposure to the Deaf world. I hope I'm not coming across as just another liberal college yuppie that, after learning a thing or two about another culture, must immediately invade that culture in a patronizing attempt to become more arrogant. I'm sincerely curious about numerous aspects of Deaf life, and I hope that in time, I will make new friends, understand different points of view, and become more comfortable in the Deaf community.

HI ya! i know how intimidating it can be! I worked as a co-op student in an assited living home for deaf seniors, it was the first time i had ever signed with the deaf after having a long love of asl. But most people are very patient and understanding and its an amazing culture to be apart of :)

:welcome: to alldeaf and surely hope you are feeling warm welcoming here and you can do it, take your time and you will do fine. smile