I'm learning ASL and some about the Deaf Culture

xNinjaxAshx

Reaction score
Hey everybody.

I'm an ASL student in high school and learning how to sign and learning a bit about the differences between Deaf Culture and the Hearing World. It's pretty interesting to learn. I have nothing against deaf people, especially since my ASL teacher is deaf, so I've gotten to know a deaf person pretty well.

I know the hearing world can be pretty harsh. I kind of think it's because we don't understand you guys or understand how you can live being deaf. So we just make stereotypes and make fun of them.

Far as learning ASL, it's a bit difficult for me sometimes, it's a language that goes real indept, more than people think. You have to be awfully smart to remember all those signs. I'm hoping I start understanding it better, because I do want to be able to sign to people. It'd be nice to be able to talk to other people besides hearing. So you know, I get to know different people and experience new things.

Yeah anyways.
Reply if you want.

Thanks for reading!

I plan on taking ASL next year and I cant wait, I do agree with you in that a lot of hearing people do make fn of the deaf culture

Hope you guys have fun learning. Trust me, I didn't start learning sign till I was 19 and it takes time to learn. Soon as you learn, you start not to think what the sign is. What will be funny when you really start learning and understand, you will catch yourself trying to sign to hearing people and get weird faces to you after you repeat yourself a couple times.

Also, a little tib bit, it took me around 18 months to have a full chat with my wife in ASL and a little longer to be able stand on my own. It takes abt 7 years to be really fluent in the language and everything. But that also goes with all languages, it takes time to learn at the older ages. Since both you are young, it might not take soo long. Since you are soo earger to learn, then that will help too.