I'm from Minnesota, you betcha

apatz

Reaction score
Hi my name is Tony I am from south east MN. I have spent a day reading some different topics on this site and some of the threads kinda helped my out already as they dealt with topics I am currently dealing with in my own life so I figured it was worth joining.

A little about me: As a teenager I was diagnosed with neurofibromatosis type 2 eventually they found cists on my auditory nerves, after a few surgeries to attempt to save my hearing swelling from my second one caused me to lose my hearing at the age of 20. I am a college grad now but don’t know much sign language as nobody around me knows it and I have great conversations with family and close friends its usually the people I don’t know who can be hard to follow.

Over the years I have never searched out for other deaf members in my area because I figured it would be harder for me to communicate with them then with people who can hear. Now as I am getting older I figure to go out and see what’s out there and this seemed like a good place to start. I am open to any questions anybody has and hope to meet some new people here online.

Hi THere, My husband's cousin lost hearing from acoustic neuroma also.

I have a friend with NF2. Welcome aboard. I am also quite familiar with your home state. Ever climb Sugarloaf?

Thanks for the warm greetings and yes I have climbed sugar loaf its such a great view of the area

Thanks for the warm greetings and yes I have climbed sugar loaf its such a great view of the area

Yes. I have been there and others near Lake Pepin. Very pretty area!

Yes. I have been there and others near Lake Pepin. Very pretty area!

First, welcome to the Newbie!

SWK, I thought Lake Pepin was in Wisconsin? Or is it right on the border? I need to go look at a map.

First, welcome to the Newbie!

SWK, I thought Lake Pepin was in Wisconsin? Or is it right on the border? I need to go look at a map.