I'm an ASL student and we are doing a debate in class on deaf issues can anyone help?

mandi17

Reaction score
I'm an ASL student and we are doing a debate on deaf issues and I'm against mainstreaming or inclusion education does anyone have any input for me?

Mainstreaming

Of course this is a controversial topic. But I'm going to tell you what I think. I was mainstreamed my whole life. The academic part of it was pretty good. I can read, I can write, I can do math, etc etc etc. But the social part was not so hot. I think it's cruel putting a Deaf child in an all-hearing environment. It doesn't matter if there's an interpreter. It doesn't matter if there's a few understanding teachers. It doesn't matter if the academics are good. Kids can be horrible and anything different about you singles you out for a great deal of ridicule. I didn't enjoy school. I hated it. Later on in my life, I was lucky to teach at a Deaf school. I finally saw what it was like and practically lived through the kids for the "deaf school experience." They were able to be involved in anything - any game, any discussion, anything.

So bottom line... I'm not for mainstreaming. It's a personal view. I don't have any statistics. I don't have any research. Just my plain ol' bias.

Last edited:
mandi17 said:
I'm an ASL student and we are doing a debate on deaf issues and I'm against mainstreaming or inclusion education does anyone have any input for me?

Well, I need to know why you are against mainstreaming or inclusion education before I can offer my input since I was a mainstreamed student back in my youth.

Education debate