I'm a teaching assistant here

bumpsy

Reaction score
While I never set out to become a teaching assistant, the job has managed to find me more than I found it. Regardless of that, I have found so many flaws within the system of teaching deaf children in a mainstream environment.

My current job in which I've been employed in since the new year is working as a TA/CSW in the classroom to a deaf boy. The school also has a deaf unit in which they go to twice a day for on.

But the teacher for the deaf is one that looks upon the children as 'poor little things' and it does frusterate me to the core! I'm the first deaf employee in the school to work there as a TA, and also a role model since the child is having issues with acceptance of his deafness.

I no doubt think I will have many challenges to face with this type of employment and I would like to hear from other TA's on here if there are any

Bumpsy

I am a teacher of the deaf myself and I am deaf. I have working in TC, oral and bilingual programs. I will share my experiences later cuz right now I am so tired from teaching all day. When I am more clear-minded, I will get back to u. I agree with u that the mainstreamed programs really do not meet the deaf children's needs most of the time.

have found so many flaws within the system of teaching deaf children in a mainstream environment.
I'm thinking about writing a lit journalism book about classic disabilites in the mainstream.
My current job in which I've been employed in since the new year is working as a TA/CSW in the classroom to a deaf boy. The school also has a deaf unit in which they go to twice a day for on.
Well at least they have a deaf unit. One of my friends didn't even get that! But it does suck that the teacher is so "oh poor wittle helpless deafies".....an ex-friend (not dhh, but wheelchair user) got that (in the mainstream) and now he's very......helpless.