How to protect my banking privacy from parents?

Okay, everyone weighed in except me. I used to work as a collections agent, as well as for a collection agency, outsourced to the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota. First of all, deafskeptic, suppose you called me regarding your account (I'll get to the bank part in a moment). I will need your account number or other number associated with your account. Then verify your address, phone number, DOB, SSN. Then I can talk to you. If either of your parents called me or I called to speak with you and they ask questions, I CANNOT tell them what the call is in reference to. I can get personally sued for that. When I was at Mayo, I can only speak to the Guarantor (the person paying the bill) or the patient. One time, a man called, gave me the account number, didn't verify anything (he wouldn't) and asked if Medicare paid. I told him nothing. I told him I have no idea whom I am speaking with and will not give that information out. He hung up.

Same with a bank. My bank will not, cannot, under any circumstances, tell anyone about my account. If I had trouble getting access to my account online and the sign in doesn't work, I get an email telling me an attempt was made at whatever the possible infraction was.

Last week, I had trouble that I went straight to the police with, as it was a bogus cashier's check to me to buy my trumpet (haven't played it in years, forgot how) and was selling it. I still have it, but the check is with the bank and all email and correspondences with the perp are with the police. My bank closed my account and I had almost hell to get it reopened, but under a different number, the whole nine yards.

Long story short: If anyone tries to get into your account, your bank has to notify you. They are not to release information about your account for any reason to anyone. I'd close my bank account (s) and go to another bank or credit union . . . pronto! Good luck, dear.