How long do you get used to wearing new BTE HA molds?

Applesseed

Reaction score
I just got a new pair of BTE hearing aid molds since my first pair (old ones) is about 2 yrs old and has shrunk.

My left mold is perfectly fit - got no complaints, but my right mold is extremely discomforting to a point that every now and then I have to remove my BTE to release the pain. It's been one week since I got the new ones.

I'm wondering... how long does it take for those that wears HA to get used to the new molds? Does it take a few days, a week, two weeks, a month?

I've been wearing HA for 2 years and the first molds were a bit discomforting at first but I got used to them after 4-5 days of wearing them.

I'm no expert but if it is uncomfortable I would take it back. You have enough to deal with without the molds being wrong. :)

Make an appointment with your audiologist.
Several hours before your appointment time, put your HA with molds in your ears.
At your appointment, your audiologist can remove the molds and see the pressure points (very important step) and then file your molds in such a way as to remove these pressure points.
It might take more than one try, but don't live with "bad" molds.

Make an appointment with your audiologist.
Several hours before your appointment time, put your HA with molds in your ears.
At your appointment, your audiologist can remove the molds and see the pressure points (very important step) and then file your molds in such a way as to remove these pressure points.
It might take more than one try, but don't live with "bad" molds.

I had to have my ear mold filed down as it was hurting my ear. I agree it should not hurt to wear a ear mold unless there some other issues going on with your ear. I have TMJ and this madeif painful to wear an ear mold in my right ear everylong.

I've been wearing earmolds for 30+ years, and every time I get a new set, they take about 1 week to get used to. Always got sore spots.