how is the deaf culture viewed?

asl&dr.pepper

Reaction score
i know that many people have asked about the deaf culture.but the thing is that i am writing a story for my school newspaper about deaf culture and the way hearing people view it.but,i'm going to put a perspective from both deaf & a hearing person

You are going to have to ask some more specific questions.

my article

what i was trying to say is how do yall think that the deaf culture is seen by hearing people and why?

what i was trying to say is how do yall think that the deaf culture is seen by hearing people and why?

Truth be told, before I started learning ASL, I was totally ignorant of the fact that there was any such thing as deaf culture. :shrug:

Truth be told, before I started learning ASL, I was totally ignorant of the fact that there was any such thing as deaf culture. :shrug:

And that would be true of the vast majority of hearing people.
Can't view what you don't know exists. Most hearies have never had contact with a deaf individual, much less been exposed to the cultural aspect of deafness. It is not so much that they have a negative view, but that they are completely ignorant of its existence.

same here... I completely grew up in oral mainstream life and I was completely unaware of deaf culture. In fact - I was completely unaware of Gallaudet University, nearby deaf schools and a large population of deafies in NYC until last year. How in the world did I not know these thing? that I do not know... :roll:

I'm in process of learning and connecting myself to deaf culture by attending DPHH events, learning ASL, and making friends with deafies. Slow but extraordinary rewarding. :cool2: