HOH general advice, and master in Social work or Pyshology?

Clau

Reaction score
Hi there,

My name is Claudia, I would like some advice about which master to pursuit, But first, i want to tell you about me, so you have more elements, to give me an advice.

Im Colombian, I have a bachelor degree in psychology. My country it's not the best country to live in (we're the friendliest people in the world, but the quality of life here sucks) I have decided to emigrate to Australia, but in order of applying for Permanent resident in Au as psychologist or Social worker, i would need to study two years master in there.

i have analyzed the whole migration thing, and it seem easiest to get a job as social worker once you graduate, than a psychologist one. However i have difficulty analyzing the challenges i will face as HOH working in one those jobs.

My native language is Spanish, i have learnt english, here in Colombia, and i also learnt english in Australia. i have no much difficulty in my daily life, excepting some social isolation (i have friends, but never go to parties or places where background noise it's gonna be a communication killer)

When i went to Au, i DID found many challenges...talking by phone became a torture, and getting a job as international student (only 20 hours per week) that didn't discriminate me for my "strong foreign accent" (i think probably it's a deaf accent, and some people has a hard time trying to understand my speech) was tough. Finnally i got a casual job that helps me to get by.