Hi! I've been lurking...

Kaimia

Reaction score
I've been lurking around here for a very long time, decided to register awhile ago, and finally decided I should do a long overdue introduction.

So, hi! I'm a freshman in college, majoring in biology. Not exactly sure what I want to do with it, but I've been thinking about teaching at a school for the deaf. I'm also learning sign language, which is my minor. I know some already becuase of prior classes I've taken and from my deaf/hoh friends, but now I can finally learn it really well! I consider myself hard of hearing. The "consider" part is a really long story... Basically, I can hear the beeps on the hearing test, but I can't understand speech very well. I also have tinnitus and a ton of other issues with my ears that none of my doctors can figure out. They just sit and scratch their heads. So yeah...since I can't understand people a lot of the time, I'm classified at school as hard of hearing too, so I have notetakers and preferential seating. I have an FM system too, but due to my other ear issues I can't use the one the school has. Hopefully I'll be able to get one for next semester, becuase I could really use it! So...that's me!

Hii Hii Hii

Welcome to AD!!! and I fall in love with your avator.. Please Please tell me is that squirrel is from minnesota too?? if so, I am jealous!

I am from NSP. Minnesota :D loves critters!!.. i have few babies in backyard (at old place) that we just moved.. I wish i could take them with us.. but I hope that new people who buy the house, treat them nice..

:)

Hello Kaimia. I hope you enjoy AllDeaf, and welcome aboard! :wave:

Welcome to AD! I hope you will enjoy around here! Biology? Wee, that is one of my favorite subjects.

Out of curious, are you only deaf in your family?

Thank you for the welcome!

MsGiglz - Yes, the squirrel is from Minnesota too. They are my favorite animals. :) It was at the neighbor's feeder and I took the picture this summer.