Hi, Im new.

Sarahh

Reaction score
Hi,

I am a University Student from Canada. I am new to this website and am trying to connect with the H.O.H/deaf community and I'm not sure where to go and how to find people around my age.

My situation:
I am recently H.O.H. I have a family history of Deafness on my fathers side however, they are not involved in the deaf community at all. It runs in my family that we are all born hearing and we suddenly begin to lose it in our adulthood until one day its gone. Everyone on that side learns to read lips and get by that way. I have started this year and have lost my ability to understand conversational speech, I cant hear in noisy places, and I cant hear some sounds anymore. So, I to have been getting by on trying to read lips, watching body language/looking at where people are looking and I am finding that tiring and challenging especially in lectures at School. I have just got a pair of hearing aids and they help, but its not the same...

, Sarah

Welcome to the forum! Glad to have you with us.

Yep, with hearing aids, it's not the same. Exactly. People think that once deaf/hard of hearing people are fitted with hearing aids, they are hearing or hear just like everyone else.

Yep, with hearing aids, it's not the same. Exactly. People think that once deaf/hard of hearing people are fitted with hearing aids, they are hearing or hear just like everyone else.

I can hear better with my HA but I have trouble understanding some words and most hearing people do not understand what I talking about. They'll yell the word at me and that does not help at all , it only hurt my ear.

I can hear better with my HA but I have trouble understanding some words and most hearing people do not understand what I talking about. They'll yell the word at me and that does not help at all , it only hurt my ear.

Hey, thanks for the post!