Hi I'm David R. Bryan I'm new here and new to the Deaf world.

dragonsign

Reaction score
I'm have just started having a hard time hearing after Basis Training in the US Army so i have to try harder to hear people and understand what they say. So I'm learning ASL because i think it will get worse. I'm new to ASL and Deaf Culture, but I am learn the language faster than i thought would, since i have a great photographic memory. But i dont just want to learn from books and internet..I want to meet people around Pickens, South Carolina, USA. I think i will be going to college to learn ASL since I get college money from the Army Reserve. I also want to go to a Church for the Deaf. I do belive God has been giveing me hints for years about learning ASL. it is a beautiful language. hope i doing the best not to insult anyone.hope to hear from someone. please.

no i was not born deaf. I just started losing it. during the guns and bombs going of in the basid training. I forgot to put my earplug in when i gun went off. long time of ringing in my ears. learned my lesson the first time. I had a hearing test...I can hear noise..but I cannot understand clearly all the time..sometimes I have to try hard. thats what the ear docotr said. he has the same problem..but he is in he 50's.

i havent told them.(the us army).I need a future..I do want to see the world..go to japan..I'm learning japanese too on the side..but no were to use it..not even with my parents...

btw. (by the way) how do you ask a person if there deaf, or can they read lips, or if the know ASL without being rude. because i dont want to assume anything.