Help! I need your recommendation on the best cellphone/pager.

Big E

Reaction score
I have promised everyone in my life (family, friends, co-workers) that I will get a pager/cellphone on January 2, 2006. I'm not sure what I want to get. There are so many options. I want your opinion. Should I get a Sidekick, Blackberry, Treo, Nokia, WyndTell, Qwerty? Which product do you like and why do you like that product?

I am a hard of hearing person and I am just learning ASL. One of the things I have had to do is attend events of the Deaf Community that are open to the public. I see many deaf persons at these events emailing their friends and family using these neat pagers and I want one. I have not purchased any wireless products due to my fear of voice cell phones. I hope you will ease my mind with your recommendations.:dizzy:

Nobody has any ideas?

Can anybody help me?
:mad:

Well, when you get a chance, let me know.

Depends on your needs. Do you think you'll be using text/emails more often than making phone calls? I once had a Treo but eventually switched to Sidekick 2 because I tend to use text/emails a lot.

For the Sidekick's unlimited data plan, it's $30. To make a phone call, you get charged 20 cents per minute.

Pardon my sounding naive, but, can you (briefly) explain what each of those items are? :confused: Cell phone is self-explanitory, but not the others. Remember, society is a "hearing world," so one does need to explain themselves when deaf or hoh.

Thanks!

Big E said:
I have promised everyone in my life (family, friends, co-workers) that I will get a pager/cellphone on January 2, 2006. I'm not sure what I want to get. There are so many options. I want your opinion. Should I get a Sidekick, Blackberry, Treo, Nokia, WyndTell, Qwerty? Which product do you like and why do you like that product?