Hello

lilybear

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

First, medical background: I was diagnosed in 2005 with a mild hearing loss due to my auditory nerve breaking down. It was said to eventually lead me to become deaf but there was no timeline laid out. As it is neurological there is no way to prevent/stop it and so I started some kind of grieving process.

6 years later (this summer), my hearing loss was evaluated as moderate and I am still functioning in the hearing world with HAs. I did though stopped denying how rapidly it's decaying and that I need to prepare myself for the future quite rapidly.

I started learning sign language (LSQ as I am in Quebec and know french + english... I don't know any ASL classes in Montreal) 6 years ago but without practicing it I lost most of it. Now I got back into it and want to focus myself into learning more and making more deaf friends so I have a circle and support for when I stop hearing completely.

Now for the personal facts: My name is Leah and I am 26 years old. I was born and raised in Ottawa, Canada but lived in Montreal for the past 4 years. I am finishing a bachelor's degree in Elementary Education to become a kindergarten teacher. I am also a Jew (just thought I'd throw that out there!) but struggling in my observance as adapting my life to my current condition requires me to break certain religious laws.

Anyway, just thought I'd say hi, and please, if you reside within the Montreal area, feel free to contact me so we can become friends! ^_^

This is a test

I tried posting an intro, never appeared after 24 hrs... Testing to see if I can post!

EDIT: Oh! It worked now! Stand-by for a proper intro!

Alright. HOH girl soon to be deaf who wants to be Deaf. (From Montreal)

Hiiii!!! :wave:

As my previous post was saying, I already tried to make an introduction but it never got up the board apparently.