Hearing people suck (well not really)

P

pinkster

I dont know how many of you know that I work for a bead store, which means i work in retail. I may not work on the sales floor but I am required to go up on it to restock stuff that I process.

Now, I have been here at my job for a year and almost 4 months. In that period of time I've experienced people being rude to me (for fact that I am deaf) minimally.

Rude customer number 1 - This happened some oh say about 2 or 3 months after i started working. I was putting stuff away as usual, and i didnt realize a customer was standing right next to me (i was sitting down.) I looked up and I said "Oh! Im sorry, Im deaf....." *customer walks away* "if you could repeat what you said while looking at me i may be able to read your lips and eventually help you, but no you had to go and be a bitch and walk away from me." Naturally she was gone by then but I was SO mad.

Rude customer number 2 - Last week a co-worker (Jayne) brought a customer to me, since Jayne didnt know how to answer her question and she knew I would. This lady, was an absolute bitch. Jayne let her know that I am deaf so she'd need to look at me when she talked, and all of the sudden it was as if i was a fucking little kid. She asked me the same question like 3 or 4 times and I gave her the proper answer the first time, and said the exact same thing each other time. Only because what I said was true. "We do not carry this color in that size, only the size you see it as." *huffs* After they left, Jayne came up and apologized, she said she knew the woman was a bitch but didnt think she'd be that bad. She said its stupid that people talk down to me like that, and I told her it happens often, but not to a point where I actually care.