Hearing impaired from Italy

Isadora

Reaction score
Hello everybody,

I am a 29 y.o. girl from Italy. I lost my hearing in both ears when I was 10, and I wear a hearing aid on my left ear, only. I mostly live using lip-reading, as I can hear sounds through the hearing aid, but I am no longer able to recognize the words.

I learnt to speak my mother tongue language (Italian) as a normal child so I speak it flawlessy, but I learnt English after my hearing loss, so I don't speak it very well and I don't understand spoken English very much.

I am looking to move to the USA in 2013-2014 because of lack of work here in Italy. I studied electrical engineering and I have been working in a power plant for 5 years. I love technology!

I think the USA are far better advanced as to hearing impaired people in the society, so I am very eager to get to know the life of a deaf person in the USA.

I subscribed to this forum for 2 reasons:
1) Get to know the best technology and services for deaf people in the USA
2) Share experience with deaf people who had to learn another language

Read you soon!

welcome! Hopefully you can learn alot from here. Have you applied for a work visa yet? If you move here and want to communicate on phone, there are basically only two ways to do this - via TDD for hand typed english or via Video relay service via internet camera using american signed language. The video relay right now is the preferred way of communication so its most likely you might need to learn yet another language. if you can do both Italian and english - ASL will be fun for you. ;) .

Ciao, Isadora....:wave: You know, years ago, I remember hearing from my cousins in Sicily that there was just no work. Hard to fathom how all this time later, the more things change, the more they remain the same. I'm sure you'll enjoy the experience in this country. Any idea where in the States you'll be moving to?

Laura