Hearing ASL student

celly37

Reaction score
I would like to get connected on oovoo or even skype (but prefer oovoo since we can get more people on at a time) with any ASL students or honestly anyone willing to sign with me! I have only completed ASL 1 and I just started ASL 2. I would like to become more fluent and comfortable signing and I really want to learn as much as I can so I can communicate with the deaf effectively!! Girls only please! Also if anyone has any tips on how i can better help my fiancee learn ASL I would love to hear them! He works at a hospital and he had a deaf patient not too long ago, and realized he really needs to learn ASL, he felt awful that he could not communicate with him almost at all. I dont really know how to teach him because i am still learning too :/ If anyone would be willing to skype or oovoo with us and teach us some signs that would be useful in a hospital situation we would really really appreciate it! <3

Hi celly37, Welcome to alldeaf:)

Maybe you can pick up a few signs on Welcome to DeafMD - DeafMD.org for your fiance.

I have a question for you, which is embarrassing I don't know by now, but how do sites like oovoo work? I use skype, and can't imagine how (on these other sites) you can videochat with more than one person at once. Do they split up your screen? (etc) I could just sign up, but I'd like to go in with some concept of what it is. Thanks!

dont be embarrased, i jsut got it yesterday and wasnt sure before that either, but it basically just makes a small box for every video chat (your can have up to 12 in a room) if you want to make a specific person bigger you can do so by clicking on them. So far I have only chatted with one person at a time, but i think a couple of us are going to sign together on saturday and then ill get to see what it is like with more then one person! :) so far i really like the layout and everything better then skype! its worth the download!