Hearing Aids...

kashveera

Reaction score
Hi guys...

I buy my own hearing aids, and I am a student, just a query, why is it so expensive to buy hearing aids, I am still suck with analog hearing aids, when we are now a digital world, simply because I battle to be able to buy hearing aids, I personally, don't think thats fair!!

Waiting for your views!!

Kashveera

I've got a CI now but the last time I bought new hearing aids about 3 years ago now (if only I'd known I was going to lose my residual hearing!!) I did test both digital and analogue hearing aids and I prefered the sound of analogue aids. It sounded more natural to me. Digital isn't always better for every person. As a matter of fact my audiologist told me that lots of people prefer analogue too.

Digital is also a lot more expensive than analogue too. Personally I don't believe that the difference in sound justifies the difference in cost. But now its very hard to get analogue aids.

I've got a CI now but the last time I bought new hearing aids about 3 years ago now (if only I'd known I was going to lose my residual hearing!!) I did test both digital and analogue hearing aids and I prefered the sound of analogue aids. It sounded more natural to me. Digital isn't always better for every person. As a matter of fact my audiologist told me that lots of people prefer analogue too.

Digital is also a lot more expensive than analogue too. Personally I don't believe that the difference in sound justifies the difference in cost. But now its very hard to get analogue aids.

The problem why I am desperate to get digital, is because my audiologists said, that analogue is not gonna exist anymore...that scared me!!

I think I also prefer the sound of analogue, but then digital is specific and then you have to get used to it!

Kashveera