Hearie looking for advice, oh and Hi everybody!

NobleWolf

Reaction score
Hello everybody!

So, as my title implies I'm looking for a bit of advice, but first you need a quick background. I'm a hearing student at my university and am learning ASL via Dr. Vicars on lifeprint.com. I have been doing the lessons on and off for a while. I was told there is a student who is hoh (or mostly deaf, I haven't meet him yet) coming next year as a freshman and I am also going to be a mentor for the incoming freshman. The Disabilities and Student Support Department got in contact with me to ask if I'd be interested in working with this student. I will have all the lessons finished by the start of next school year. Other info: there is one other deaf student on campus, one of the campus ministers I know has some ASL skills, and that is about it with the ASL skills. The plan is for him to be in my Opening Week (week long orientation and team building for freshmen before classes) mentor group. Now that you have the background here's my questions.

Does anyone have any advice on anything? I tried to say hello to the deaf guy currently on campus, but I was really nervous and forgot a couple words.
How should I work with the incoming student?
The incoming guy will have a CC device or skype interpreter for the classes, but the rest of the week when we are doing team building activities there won't be an interpreter. We are a 'rural' university and the nearest certified terp is 2+ hour drive away. If he is hoh and has hearing aids the plan is just for me to 'fill in the gaps', but if he is fully deaf I'm nervous I won't be adequate for him. I think he comes from a mainstream background so our university won't be a new situation communication wise.
I have plans to practice signing with a proficient ASL student over the summer.
Any advice or words of wisdom/experience are greatly appreciated.