Hear I go...

Chewie

Reaction score
Yes I meant to type "hear"!

I am headed to meet our newest patient who has been deaf since 18 months old.
I know some basic fingerspelling (self taught - thanx to the book and website suggestions of others on AD) and a few phrases...

Wish me luck.

I'll let you all know how it goes!

:Ohno:

If all failed. Hire an interpreter or ask if writing suits the patient.

By the way, are you compitable with medical marijuana?

Good Luck Chewie!!! I hope it all works out for you.

I knew you'd have my back on this one.

How do you sign "I feel like a total failure!" ?

I felt so out of place. The patient's daughter was there and helped interpret.
The patient wanted to teach me to fingerspell (which I kinda already knew) - so she was impressed that I knew that - but I could not keep up with her...
Let's just call her lightning fingers!

I also learned the signs for "tattletale", "confessed" and "brag"...I am not sure why those were the ones they chose to point out :giggle:

the patient said she liked that I laughed alot...and then began picking on her daughter (which the daughter did not fully translate, but I got the gist of what was being said.)
We signed "I Love You" as we left the room - which I sign to my kids anytime I leave the house or drop them off at school.

Thanks for the kind words, Jas --- see ya around AD, my friend!:dance2:

Just put an L in sign language and place it on your forehead.

No need to sign the whole sentence, matey.

As I learned today!

btw - it was supposed to be MARY Jane - not Many Jane...
See I can't even spell right - how am I supposed to sign correctly!

You don't spell in sign language or they will get sick of you. Like I said, impaitent.

You don't spell in sign language or they will get sick of you. Like I said, impaitent.

unfortunatly - this lady who is now 96 years old (and pretty set in her ways)