Half-life newbie

Firebrand

Reaction score
:deaf: I was born blind in my left eye and profoundly deaf in both ears. I was raised in the hearing world and taught how to speak without being taught any sign language. I went to college at Purdue University and studied biology for a year and a half before I had to drop out when I was 20 due to severe chronic major depression that turned out to be treatment-resistant. My personality was changed forever. I recovered somewhat and got married to my college bf. I've been an artist/housewife until I ended up with a brain lesion when I was 33 years old. For months, I was a medical mystery. Then, after 5 MRI scans, my neurologist thinks it was a stroke. Who knows if it's the right diagnosis, but I've been living with uncertainty ever since.

I never really had any contact with the deaf community. My husband is slightly hearing impaired and doesn't even consider his own impairment. I'm so not into being a victim, but life has beaten me up so very badly. I've been fighting for years - alone. I wish I had this site a long time ago. I like to have fun. We don't have many friends in real life. I have plenty of friends onine. I really need local friends. Most people talk too fast for me to lip-read, so I do best on one-on-one.

Hehe. I hope that didn't sound too depressing. I'm a fun person to be around. I do have depression and that's what I need to stay on top of. But, I look forward to getting to know you here. :locked:

Guess what? I am deaf and blind. All the way for the right eye, and the left eye is going at it's own speed.

I am generally happy except when I am in pain from my eye disease, and there are several more people here in the same boat.

So for company and others like you , you have come to the right place.

:welcome:

Welcome to AllDeaf!!! :wave: