greetings from the hearing mum of a hh kid

jbeer

Reaction score
hi there, i'm new to all deaf although i've lurked on and off for a while... i'm hearing, but my son is hard of hearing (sloping, moderately-severe to profound), was identified as a baby, and has had bilateral aids since he was 4 months old. he's now 5 years old and in junior kindergarten - integration support in the morning, and mainstream in the afternoon.

he is very oral, but we've also been working on asl - had a deaf consultant come to our house every second week for about 4 years, and he went to preschool at the bob rumball centre for the deaf. in involved in hands & voices, and last fall i quit my job in tv to work at the canadian hearing society.

he is struggling a bit with his "identity" as a hard of hearing kid, but i'm happy to say we've just found an after-school babysitter who is a teenage guy who is also hh/bilateral aids/uses asl, so i am hoping he can be a bit of an inspiration/confidante for my son!

hi there, i'm new to all deaf although i've lurked on and off for a while... i'm hearing, but my son is hard of hearing (sloping, moderately-severe to profound), was identified as a baby, and has had bilateral aids since he was 4 months old. he's now 5 years old and in junior kindergarten - integration support in the morning, and mainstream in the afternoon.

he is very oral, but we've also been working on asl - had a deaf consultant come to our house every second week for about 4 years, and he went to preschool at the bob rumball centre for the deaf. in involved in hands & voices, and last fall i quit my job in tv to work at the canadian hearing society.

he is struggling a bit with his "identity" as a hard of hearing kid, but i'm happy to say we've just found an after-school babysitter who is a teenage guy who is also hh/bilateral aids/uses asl, so i am hoping he can be a bit of an inspiration/confidante for my son!
Sounds you have have taken control.. Excellent..