General life experiences

Tasky

Reaction score
Hello everyone! I'm an ASL student and I've heard quite a few people mention how difficult it can be for Deaf growing up. I was wondering if anyone would be willing to chime in about their experiences.

What I'm most curious about is:

Is your family Deaf/HOH as well?

Do any of your family members know sign language?

Did your parents/guardians support your deafness or did they view it in a negative way?

Were you sent to a Residential/Day school or mainstreamed?

Did you enjoy whichever school you went to?

Was signing encouraged or was it forbidden?

Do you have mostly hearing friends, Deaf friends, or both?

Did you attend Gallaudet University, a different college, or not at all?

If you have a spouse/significant other, are they Deaf? A CODA? Or hearing?

If you want children, would you prefer they were Deaf?

Yes
Yes
Did your parents/guardians support your deafness ?
Yes
Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

If you want to know these things for your own enlightenment, read thru previous threads (use the Search option for topics).

If you are doing a homework assignment . . . well….

Yes
Yes
Did your parents/guardians support your deafness ?
Yes
Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Ditto, if yuo dont mind, bott! :lol:

I am curious about knowing something about you beside just being a student . It would be nice if gave a little back ground about yourself before asking about mine.

I am curious about knowing something about you beside just being a student . It would be nice if gave a little back ground about yourself before asking about mine.