Gallaudet U Open House

TrippyMoods22

Reaction score
I'm going to be at the Open House on the 13th! I'm eagerly anticipating it :D does anybody have input on what not to do/say, upon introduction to a D/deaf person?

Just be cool and yourself...
You will do fine

Yes just be yourself.
This is the best advice. Be true to who you really are. This is the best way to be happy inside. Don't try to be what you think other people want you to be. In the long run that will make you mistake and hate yourself. Been there, done that.
If you have career interests see if you can talk to a professor in that major while you are there.

I have been at GU since last night. Met some nice Deaf and Hoh people c: they were so patient with me. I am new to ASL, but with them, I felt like I was a part of the conversation. It was amazing. Quite unlike how hearies make me feel

I am never anything but myself :) I have walked as one beside who I am not. It is not the path i want

That's great. Nobody knows who stole a lot of desserts at the Open House. That might be you. LOL.

I have been at GU since last night. Met some nice Deaf and Hoh people c: they were so patient with me. I am new to ASL, but with them, I felt like I was a part of the conversation. It was amazing. Quite unlike how hearies make me feel
Welcome to the Deaf world. This is part of our culture. It's accepting and understanding. Many you met may have similar experiences as you where you only it or not. We know how it feels to be left out of conversation. It is a big party of how and why some key characteristics of our culture formed the way they did. It's something hearing people will never truely understand. Once you are immersed with an ASL rich environment, you will pick it up like a sponge