Gallaudet protests 2006?

blank canvas

Reaction score
Not sure where to put this but if I chose wrong could a mod move it please :)

Ok so I am studying for my test and basically I am now questioning what I was taught in class...

My teacher says that the protests at Gallaudet in 2006 over Fernandez being selected as president by the board were fueled by the fact that she was 'not Deaf enough' But after reading comments in articles from the protesters that doesn't seem to be the reason.

Yes I realize we are referring to the culutural definition, but it just doesn't seem that cut and dry, so I was looking for input

I am pretty sure that she was not "deaf enough" and that was the main reason. She learned ASL much later on in her life and couldn't quite sign very fluently when she was asked to consider the position.

The Deaf students felt that they wanted someone who has been deaf their entire lifetime, be fully immersed in the deaf culture and community, and truly understands what it's like to be deaf. Also, they wanted to keep their promise true to the famous protest in 1988 for Deaf President Now. They didn't want to see all of their hard earned success be futile.

I was attending RIT at that time during the protest so I don't really know ALL of the deeper details although NTID supported the protest.

Also they objected to her management style in the admin. Also I believe there were occurrences of Audism under her leadership.

But it's probably not politically correct of me as a Australian to comment on this. I recall being glued to the internet everyday during the protest.

As a Canadian recall a few items of the Deaf protest of 1988 at Gallaudet,
If anyone is interested read Oliver Sacks book: Seeing Voices, University of California Press 1988. Chapter 3 pages 124-159.

Implanted Advanced Bionics-Harmony activated Aug/07

Yo Blank Canvas --

Without clicking play do you recognize this person? He pretty much was the "leader" of the protest.