First time going to the state department of rehabilitation

ladysolitary85

Reaction score
So I finally went to ask for help in finding a job better for me. The thing is I want to work, but every job I have had always had conflicts with my hearing and I never felt like an equal or I belonged or I could grow from.

So I went to the website and submitted the application and hope to get the ball rolling.

Has anyone else went through this? What was your experience? This is my first time asking for help through the program.

Oh its Voc. reh? if so, you can ask them for getting you a free hearing aid if you are eligible for vr.

also ask for a job too. tell everything what you have at home and vr will look into your income resource and see if it meets your needs and check your income.

i think it's a great way to start with vr by looking for a job. good luck.

Yep thats where I'm going, well online application is being processed, I've never went through VR before so this is all entirely new to me but I'm getting fed up with trying on my own and getting turned down and judged with no way to really prove that. Sooo this is very new to me. I just know I need to try it and see what happens.

i had vr for my college years. My old VR (represetative) is very helpful. but not for my job. Remember VR can help you what you like for a job but did not mean to get you a job by VR. VR gives you lots of tips and talk to the company that you are interested. Just do you best!

Good place to start but there's no help like self help. The rehab in my state offered (few) classes, but no real job help. The counselor wrote me a letter of reference that described me as "an excellent hearing aid wearer." The only job I landed with that glowing review was a five year nightmare that I thank God every day that I got out of.....

Laura

In the dark ages , VR placed me in a job as a nighttime janitor at a college.