Etiquette

Psa182

Reaction score
Ok, I have a dilemma. I attend a school with a high concentration of hearing students taking the interpreter course and deaf students. I am also taking the interpreter course (I'm in my first semester). Naturally, I would like to practice as much as possible.
So, here's my situation. Quite a few of the faculty members are deaf and they often stand in the halls outside the lab and sign to each other, holding sometimes lengthy conversations. I often find myself trying to catch what they're saying without realizing it. So my question, if they are standing in a public school hallway where they know they will be seen by others who know or are learning sign, is it rude and inconsiderate to watch their conversation. On the one hand, I would say yes out of simple consideration. However, if two hearing people were standing in a crowded hallway holding a conversation, they would expect to be listened to.
So, I need some advice. Is it ok try to catch a couple signs here and there or is this rude and inconsiderate?

That's a toughie. Usually, it's better to try to avoid listening in. If you're curious, then try not to stare too long or make it obvious. I have that problem sometimes.

Frankly, I don't think it is rude at all if we happen to see anyone who signs at anywhere. If Signers want it to be private, they should go in private places to talk.

I am deaf myself. I dont think its rude when hearing person like you see anyone who signs is normal! At my college where I attended, there were interpreter and deaf programs there! I saw an open communication at any places at my college.

If you stand in between them and watch them sign, without them saying anything to you, then that is fine. Unless if they say, excuse us, please this is private conversation...then you may leave.