Enter the Uncategorizable ;-)

Rose Immortal

Reaction score
Hi...

I dunno how much posting I'll be doing, but I figured I'd do you guys the courtesy of introducing myself.

I am a grad student currently working on an MBA. Now you know why I may not post often. ;)

Here's the "uncategorizable" bit. I am hearing--and synesthetic. For every sound I hear, there is a visual image in my mind that appears without my willing it, and changes with the sound. I cannot even imagine a sound without its corresponding visual form. I guess my auditory and visual centers are crosswired to each other. I didn't understand that I heard differently from others until I was 20 or so, and it was really a shock to find that phrases like "bright sound" are not literal to most people.

I have that too. I'm hoh, but experiance most sound as visual stimuli.....

Hello Rose Immortal , :wave:

Welcome to ALLDeaf and enjoy your stay here.... :)

deafdyke said:
I have that too. I'm hoh, but experiance most sound as visual stimuli.....

Nice! Always cool to talk to people who KNOW I'm not crazy or taking LSD 24-7. ;)

Might be fun to compare notes on what we see, someday. :)

And thank you to everyone else who welcomed me!

G'day Rose Immortal,
Welcome to AD! hope you'll enjoy yerself on this forum. Good luck with your mba. Cheers! :wave:

Welcome to AD, Rose Immortal!
I've heard of people getting visual feedback through smelling or tasting.
That's awesome that you're able to get visual feedback through hearing. I suppose it's more of a practiced thing with some deaf people conjuring up visual feedback with signs than it is genetic.

Is that difficult for others with hearing to understand how you process sounds?

Also, if you hear the name, "Liza" what kind of image is conjured up with it? Sorry, I'm curious! ;)

Liza said:
Welcome to AD, Rose Immortal!

Thank you, and thanks to all who have welcomed me! :)

I've heard of people getting visual feedback through smelling or tasting.