Employer discrimination - is it?

midnitexvz

Reaction score
I'm hearing impaired, considered deaf without my hearing aide. I've been doing concrete pumping for 5 years and just moved to a different company 3 months ago. Recently they aquired a new "boss" who i swear has it out for me. At first it was just rumors saying that he was going to keep me either riding with someone (me not driving and not having my own truck like i'm supposed to ) or just having me deliver pipes (which is a BIG down grade) due to my hearing. I have never had any problems doing my job and have proven that many times at this new job. My hearing impairment has not affected it what so ever. Any how, more recently i was hanging around 2 co-workers, one of them whom is dispatch and the boss called. Dispatch said he needed me in my own truck for the next days jobs. Boss said that he wouldn't permit me to be in that truck because of my hearing. Mind you i have a CDL and know what im doing. Both guys heard this and this isn't the first time it's happened. Now yesterday he called me into my office and said i might be getting laid off because he doesn't think my hearing loss allows me to do my job. Is this right? And what can i do? I know that he's not going to be stupid enough to "fire" me because of my hearing, more or less he'll come up with something else. What in the world can i do?