Does ASL Teach English?

Cheri

Prayers for my dad.
Premium Member
Reaction score
ASL (American Sign Language) that signs made with the hands and other movements, including facial expressions and postures of the body,,

I noticed that some Deaf people aren't as good with English grammar or spelling, I am wondering if ASL Had something to do with it? Or is it because, of what school they attended; their parents or not learning how to pronunce words?

I do keep in mind that each child is different and their needs individual.. But, I also think that English communcation/grammer is very important goal in their life also, It is the way of commucate we have to understand each other to know what each other are saying.

Feel free to Debates :)

Yes, it does have an effect on English. I used to be a tutor for English for NTID students. I've seen their papers and their grammar is often horrible. I will then remind them that the structure is wrong and know what their response is? "That's how it's signed in ASL!" I also have a friend who is hearing and is an interpreter major. She told me that it's recommended that you don't talk and sign at the same time when trying to communicate in ASL. She said the reason was so that it wouldn't slow down your grammar and mess up your English speaking skills. When you're thinking in full-English, you can sign in ASL quickly and still maintain your thoughts. However, when you're talking while signing... then your signing slows down and you might skip a word or two. If this is done repeatedly, you might begin to speak in ASL. That's why most interpretering students are asked not to speak when signing in ASL.

ASL is not written english, therefore ASL is only PURE langague for the communication purposes, if you want to teach kids english the best thing is TC ( total communication)

I think you can teach in ASL, just make sure as you teach English you show how it is a different language. Teach ASL grammar, too, so they can see the difference.