Dislike Weekend Work

ClearSky

Reaction score
I have a job that only gives me 2 weekends of the month off, but not necessarily together like Saturday and Sunday in a row. I miss spending time at home with my family when they are free from work. I got homesick about that, so I requested this weekend and Thanksgiving off. We only had Thanksgiving Day off as a paid holiday. I work in a store. I get 2 days off during the week, which is kind of nice, but my family are working.

I know a store like mine at another place that are off Sundays. I don't understand why mine open on both weekends. I know they are the busiest day though. The store is a small store. Another one closes about a half hour earlier which is a huge store.

I am not really going to change my job right now because it's a nice place to go to work, but I wonder what specific stores have more weekends off. I'd like Sunday off to go to church. Isn't there a law about this at all? sigh.

No law about this, sorry to inform u. I used to work 2 full time jobs...one as a teacher during the week and as a resident counselor on weekends at a group home for 2 years! I know the feeling. I quit my group home job last jan due to having a baby and having health problems...Now I just enjoy my weekends with my family. No money I make is worth the sacrific!

Have u thought about working in a different field that doesnt require weekend work/

Try changing a different career that doesn't require working on weekends. Most office related jobs don't require that, also the computer jobs, too. That's how it is, if you gotta work on weekend, you gotta accept it.