Disabilities Act editorial

ITPjohn

SAC Class of 05
Premium Member
Reaction score
I saw this today while I was checking e-mails. Interesting to read his viewpoint about how things were and how much more still needs to be done.

http://news.yahoo.com/news?tmpl=story&cid=679&e=4&u=/usatoday/20050726/cm_usatoday/disabilitiesacthelpsbuteveryonehasaroletoo

Disabilities Act helps, but everyone has a role, too
By T. Alan Hurwitz
Tue Jul 26, 7:14 AM ET

My success as a deaf professional is in no way a chance event. Growing up profoundly deaf with deaf parents in the 1940s and 1950s, when opportunities were scarce, I consider myself fortunate to have had strong family support and a fierce desire to succeed.

Every summer, my mother would make me read a book one hour every day before I could go outside to play. She made sure I met deaf people to learn about their jobs as farmers, barbers or seamstresses. I worked as a busboy, a cabinet maker and a dishwasher and delivered newspapers at 4:30 each morning. I chased turkeys at a farm and washed hundreds of vehicles at a car wash. No job was too trivial.

By trying so many things, I learned what I wanted to do and what I didn't want to do, and that education would be the ticket to my success.

Without any interpreters or note takers or tutors, high school and college classrooms were extremely challenging. It was impossible to read my teachers' lips because they either spoke too fast or moved around too much in the classroom. Exhausted from trying to read lips. I would read and re-read my textbooks and my notes every evening.

Fifteen years ago, President George H.W. Bush helped change that situation for millions of people by signing into law the Americans with Disabilities Act, which guarantees equal opportunity for people with disabilities.