Coda

M

Momoftwo

Hi,

I don't know if this is the right place for me to post here.

I'm curious about coda (children of deaf adults). Do the codas have problem in school? poor grades or difficult to follow the teacher's instructions or not listen to teacher like daydreaming?

I've heard that the children learned the sign language first and they learned to use their eyes as when they get older, their eyes are expert better than listening skills. So, is that true that it could affect coda to have difficulties in school because they have the habit of using their eyes (visual skills) than listening skills?

I'm just learning.

Momoftwo

Hi MomOftwo,

U could ask a member here who has a username CODAchild, she knows alot more about how to raise a CODA child, and much more, you can PM her if you would like to ask her some questions regarding this...

Sorry I don't know much about this...

I am a deaf mother and have two hearing children 10 and 5, both of them attend public school system, My son Markus who is 10 is an honor roll student, At first when he was in first grade to second grade he had been having problems with reading, I put him in tutor and took him to the library to pick out his favorite books, sat down helped him with reading, read together, ask him to tell me what the story is about. It successful and made improvements.

If you see a problem in your children's knowledge, step up and work with them, do whatever it takes to see your children improve for the better. That's what I do. ;)

It's not only deaf parents with hearing children, It can happen to hearing parents with deaf children, or anyone else for all that matters. It's up to the parents ourselves to help our children to successful. :thumb:

Opps, I'm umm having a blonde moment here :Oops: .....I thought CODA stands for something else....

^Angel^ said:
Opps, I'm umm having a blonde moment here :Oops: .....I thought CODA stands for something else....