Coclear Implant and Hearing Aid Improvement Survey

jklai

Reaction score
Hello "Alldeaf.com" members! I am a biomedical engineering student at Arizona State University, and I was wondering if you would be so kind as to assist me with my senior design project by taking a brief survey (a simple reply in this thread or a PM with your survey responses is enough).

As a quick background - this year, my group is designing a medical device that could potentially be an alternative/supplement to cochlear implants and hearing aids for the hard of hearing and deaf. For now, I'm going to refrain from providing any more detail so that this survey could be taken without unnecessary bias or preconceived hypotheses.

And feel free to leave questions blank answer, or elaborate as much as you want (even if not relevant to the question). Any reply would be very much appreciated! Thank you!

----------

1. Are you a user of a medical device(s) for hearing impairment (cochlear implant, hearing aid, et cetera)? If so, please state/describe it/them. If not, is there a particular reason why not?

The remaining questions assume you answered yes to the previous question:

2. How often do you use this device and under what circumstances?

3. Please walk us through a typical session using the device in as much (or little) detail as you please.

4. What do you like about the device?

5. What do you dislike about the device?

6. What issues did you consider when initially choosing the device?

7. What improvements would you make to the device?

----------

Thank you again for your help!

Well to get you going since no one has answered, I shall try to be helpful and go first.

1. Are you a user of a medical device(s) for hearing impairment (cochlear implant, hearing aid, et cetera)? If so, please state/describe it/them. If not, is there a particular reason why not?
- Yes, I wear two behind the ear hearing aids called versata power aids by phonak