Classes and Movies and No SUBTITLES?!

Reaction score
Okay so I didn't know where to put this...
But I had my first day of classes today...
Class one was fine, notes will be online (all of them) so I won't have to worry (that much) on missing anything important.

Class two, oh my was it stressful.
We had our syllabus (course outline) handed out to us and then we get told we have to do a film review?? then we have films in class and do in class discussions and Q&As while watching film?! So after class I go to my Prof. telling her that I'm a student who is deaf and needs subtitles for the movies or else I won't get everything... She says "Oh, none of the films have subtitles" GREAT! :shock:

Now I'm freaking out because our film review is due on the 23rd... and I have no way of getting CC for any of the films.

Wirelessly posted

Go to disability services and raise the issue there. They can't force you to attempt to do the assignment without CC. Or look for a subtitled version of the films?

At our college, before classes start, the disabilities office notifies (in writing) each instructor of that student. The office informs the instructor what accommodations must be made (seating, captions, extra test time, etc.). The instructors have to follow the letter.

If media materials aren't captioned or subtitled, then they can't be used as required testable material.

I don't know if the rules are the same in Canada.

Wirelessly posted

Go to disability services and raise the issue there. They can't force you to attempt to do the assignment without CC. Or look for a subtitled version of the films?

I emailed Disability Services, booked an appointment... lets hope I get subtitles. I won't know the films we watch until she (professor) tells us either in a day in advance or the day of.
We'll see what happens. I'm pretty sure I will get subtitles... but it's more of WHEN will I get them?