Chimposiums at CWU: come meet the signing chimpanzees

BLeGal2

Reaction score
If your ever in WA state and want something fun to do, feel free to make a reservations to visit the Chimpanzee and Human Communication Institute (CHCI) in Ellensburg. This institute houses 3 chimpanzees that were cross fostered as human deaf children, so they all sign (it use to be 5, but two passed away). The sanctuary is amazing.

I am currently an apprentice at CHCI, and I have attended multiple chimposiums cause they are all different and wonderful since the chimps act differently every time.

For more information about the tours, (read the site if you will need an interpreter for your tour)

visit:

CHCI - Chimposiums

I thought for a sec there this thread said the singing chimps...

If your ever in WA state and want something fun to do, feel free to make a reservations to visit the Chimpanzee and Human Communication Institute (CHCI) in Ellensburg. This institute houses 3 chimpanzees that were cross fostered as human deaf children, so they all sign (it use to be 5, but two passed away). The sanctuary is amazing.

I am currently an apprentice at CHCI, and I have attended multiple chimposiums cause they are all different and wonderful since the chimps act differently every time.

For more information about the tours, (read the site if you will need an interpreter for your tour)

visit:

CHCI - Chimposiums

Chimpanzees are not human deaf children. It really is insulting.

Chimpanzees are not human deaf children. It really is insulting.

Yeah, what is that supposed to mean??