Child Counseling Presentation

Ildri

Reaction score
:wave: Everyone!

As you may or may not know, I'm a grad student studying to become a counselor. One of my classes at the moment is Child Counseling, and I was assigned to do a project on the child counseling topic of my choice. So I'm giving a presentation on counseling d/Deaf/HoH children. I thought this could be a good opportunity to educate and bust some myths. Now, my hearing loss only came on in adulthood. I'd love to hear some thoughts from those of you who were d/Deaf/HoH as children (or HAVE d/Deaf/HoH children) about what you think child counselors ought to know.

:ty: so much for your help!

What they should know? What's the situation for the deaf child? Deaf kids in the mainstream are likely to have a lot of anger if they have no good support system.

So there's one thing for you.

Good for you Ildri. You are asking the population that knows what you need to know and asking them to teach you. Commendations for that!

Study, study, study the historical context of deafness in this country. It has a lot to do with the way you need to view your deaf/hoh clients. It cannot be left out in a complete assessment of needs.

The anger Botts mentioned. It's there, and it is justified. Let them know that their anger is justified, and then spend time exploring with them ways in which that anger can become productive for them.

Meet your clients right where they are. Start there.

Yeah i went to counseling and the counselor was hearing but seems not to be familiar with deaf culture like deaf people's tendencies of doing that stuff. This person signs good but not very involved with deaf children or deaf adults enough.