Can single deaf people adopt?

ILoveTarget

Reaction score
i would like to adopt a deaf child someday but i was wondering if im single can i adopt kid or do i need be married? i live in foster care all my life so i want to adopt child so they have mom. i wait until i get older until i adopt after i have my college degree so i can have my own home and buy lots of toys for my child. thank you for the advice.

It depends on the state. In some states you have to be legally married (so you can't just have a ceremony and adopt). IDK about being deaf, it is probably something they would take into account. But I can't see them denying you a child JUST based on you being deaf.

I am sure you can adopt your deaf baby or any kind of baby that you want to adopt. You will be fine being single and if you just let them know that you want to adopt a child, then go ahead with all of your heart content. Wishing you all the good luck to having to adopt your child. The big question is how long will you have to wait to get your adopted child to come home to? This is the next step to try to fill out the paperworks and it might take a long time or hopefully a short time. Going through the adoption take time. :fingersx:

I have a friend who is single and she is adopting a deaf girl from India so she is very excited. You can do it :)

My father adopted me as a single parent (since my parents aren't legally married). No problems whatsoever on the single-parent front. As for adopting as a Deaf parent, I can't see why they wouldn't let you.

My friend who is deaf and single adopted a girl from Russia about 5 years ago. There were no issues with her being single or being deaf.

You sure can!...I adopted 3 boys in 2006, cared for them since 2003 after being abandoned by the mother (drug/alcohol addict).