Breaking Stereotypes

deidra

Reaction score
I was wondering:

If anyone has a job or a career that you would not usually see a deaf or hard-of-hearing person doing. In other words, is anyone doing a job that requires you to speak and hear very well and if you don't - it can be very bad for you and your clients?

For example, I am studying to be a nurse. I've learn that assessment (of temperature, heart, blood pressure, etc.) is a BIG part of the well-being of hospital patients. And doing assessments include listening to the heart (with stethescope - most made for the hearing person) and listening to patients (who may have voices too soft or accents too strong for the HOH person to understand). And one wrong move - no matter how small - can really screw up everything for the patient and the nurse.

So...anyone? I want to know who is doing big and great things in the job field and breaking stereotypes that says that deaf and HOH people cannot do certain jobs.

Hmm...12 views and no replies. I guess no one is really doing something like this. I hope they are!

I worked as cashier and had hard time communicating with customers.

And teenager was buying a rifle and I didn't know that I had to check his ID

So I quit.

deidra said:
Hmm...12 views and no replies. I guess no one is really doing something like this. I hope they are!

Sometimes, certain posts/threads may go unnoticed as there are many topics in various of forums here in AD...give it time--

{Mod Edit: Thread's moved to appropriate forum-- }

I work primarily on the telephone in a sales dept of a retail corp (not telemarketing, I couldn't do that ~ too much pressure!!) :) Because I'm only HOH I can use a very amplified phone to do the work without a lot of difficulty. If there is a customer I just can't communicate with (if their phone is too quiet or I just can't understand them) I can transfer them to another rep.