ASL student with question about culture

smilingdaisy

Reaction score
I am an ASL student in college, and i am doing a research paper about the Deaf community. MY topic is about the subcultures/minorities within the Deaf Community. I am having trouble finding this information so I thought maybe someone could help. I just keep finding how the Deaf community is the "minority" in America. I really find the Deaf culture really interesting, and would like to learn more about this topic. can anyone help?

What sort of minorities within the minority are you looking for? I'm Jewish, and have lots of links I could pass on to you on being both Deaf & Jewish if that would help? There are definately 'minority within a minority' issues there!

I'd also look at other religious, ethnic, disability minority groups within the deaf community, also sexual orientation, and how about things like people's interest groups - sometimes that can become almost a subculture if it's far from the usual, and of course where people fall on the scale of opinions regarding communication methods, that one sure divides people sometimes! :lol:

You could write maybe about hearing people who are considered part of the Deaf community. Or maybe about hard of hearing people who have learned ASL and who are part of the Deaf community even though they are not considered what most people consider deaf. Or Deaf-Blind people who have both vision and hearing loss.

Good luck with your project! :)

I agree!

You can also write about how the deaf and hard of hearing were treated along time ago.
They though the handcapped, even the deaf were "Frecks".
I'm Jewish, like Honeyshot,and I know what its like to be picked on.
Good luck with your paper!
Margie
Dir. of Communication Services
OCDAC