ASL in public schools??

dreamchaser

Reaction score
Why couldn't Deafies volunteer an hour a month to teach ASL to public school students? That way the Education Board could not say that it costs too much. Would you be willing to volunteer an hour a month to promote ASL and try to make it a secondary national language?

Why in the world should Deafies forego a salary for teaching ASL as a second language in high schools when Spanish teachers and French teachers are being paid for the same work? That in and of itself places not just ASL in an inferior position, but the deaf teacher in a devalued position.

If a Deaf individual teaches ASL as a second language to high school students, they are to be paid at the same level as any teacher that performs the same function.

I work in a school district and at our high school, we have three staff ASL instructors. Two are Deaf and one hearing. The classes are packed and popular. Several students have gone into ITPs or became TODs. Our D/hh students are very lucky to have a student population who can communicate with them in their language!! Wish more ASL instructors were out there and more districts willing to recognize ASL as another language to offer.

There's nothing wrong with setting up an ASL club.

A couple students did that at RIT. They set up a weekly program called No Voice Zone where volunteers can show up and teach others who show up to learn. :)

A couple students did that at RIT. They set up a weekly program called No Voice Zone where volunteers can show up and teach others who show up to learn. :)