ASL class/ student w/ dyslexia

deafsqrrl

Reaction score
I teach ASL 2 class. This is my first time for teaching an ASL class. Anyway,
at the end of my first class, one student came to see me saying that he has dyslexia. He has difficulty reading the fingerspelling, but has no problems reading the signs.

What is your advice about that? How do you grade the student with this disability?

Thank You.

Sqrrl

You should find out, if teachers are allowed to do that, whether this student is receiving assistance from the office of students with disabilities (or whatever it's called at your school). If he's getting extra help from his other classes then that would be a consideration in your class. Not to be cynical, but I would want to be sure the student really had dyslexia before adjusting any grades. You could talk to the student directly if you're comfortable with that, and find out how he's handling this with his other teachers. The OSD should also be able to give you guidance as far as how to grade this student. That's a challenge I haven't heard of before.

I teach ASL 2 class. This is my first time for teaching an ASL class. Anyway,
at the end of my first class, one student came to see me saying that he has dyslexia. He has difficulty reading the fingerspelling, but has no problems reading the signs.

What is your advice about that? How do you grade the student with this disability?

Thank You.

Sqrrl

Did you receive a note about this student from the OSD? My teachers for this upcoming semester will receive a note/letter from the Career and Counseling Office (they handle the students with disabilities at my small college). I would check with the coordinator of services for students with disabilities.

That's a new one for me, too.