Article re: Sign Language vs Oralism

Eriol

Reaction score
seeking opinions for article

Hi

I am a profoundly deaf student who uses Oralism to communicate and I'm currently learning ASL. I study at Lester B. Pearson College, the UWC of the Pacific.

I am writing an article as part of my application for a writing internship, and my topic is 'To Speak or To Be Silent', regarding the debate about sign language vs. oralism. If you don't mind, could any of you take the time to express your thoughts on some of the following questions? I would be really grateful!

Sign Language vs Oralism

(If you could choose) would you choose to be completely Oral or completely SL?
or do you feel that it is best to know both?

if you were forced into learning SL/Oralism, do you regret being forced to learn it?
what are the advantages of SL, and/or the advantages of Oralism?
What are the disadvantages? are there advantages/disadvantages to being completely Oral/completely SL?

could you also say whether you are using SL, or Oralism, or both.

I will ask for full permission, personally, before using any of your replies in my article, and I would be completely willing to change screennames if necessary to protect your privacy.

Thank you in advance!

Last edited:
My feeling is that both are very good skills. But this is my opinion. Sign Language is the language of the deaf and also helps a deaf person know EVERYTHING that is going on. Say for instance, a parent uses sign language on his/her kid the kid will know everything that is being said. The kid will get all of the information. But if another parent is strictly oral with his/her kid the kid will only catch 30 to 35 percent of what is being said. You see the difference?

(If you could choose) would you choose to be completely Oral or completely SL?
or do you feel that it is best to know both?