A question about Deaf developement

murray545

Reaction score
Hello, my name is Steven (hearing). I'm currently in my third year of ASL in high school and I have been wondering for a while how Deaf people learn to read. When hearing people read they sound it out syllable by syllable. So I was just wondering how y'all learn. My teachers haven't been much help with this and anytime I ask they don't really know how to explain. Please don't get me wrong this is not an English/ASL thing. Thanks to anyone who answers!

BTW the Deaf Education director at my school is Bradley Porche, he works for Al Gore and every once and a while he goes to Congress to support different Bills. Just wondering if anyone has ever heard of him or knows him.

Well...

Deaf people learn the late language with English writing or reading due that parents doesn't know what resource that needed. Some state have nice offer service to update with parents and have them aware that way child won't leave behind develop.

I think that syllable by syllable isn't benefit for Deaf because it is like try to fix us...

Whole word reading is how I learned. No phonics.

How I learned with audio processing disorder as well deafness

wondering for a while how Deaf people learn to read. When hearing people read they sound it out syllable by syllable. So I was just wondering how y'all learn. .

hi

I learned by whole word reading because I cant hear syllables due to apd

Last edited by a moderator:
When hearing people read they sound it out syllable by syllable.
They can also read in a whole language approach.
Not everyone uses a " Hooked on fonicks Wurked four Me! approach.

I am hearing and I learned via the 'whole word' method. My daughter will learn this way as well, hopefully multiple languages.