A friendly hello

FFHavoK

Reaction score
Hi there

A little about me and why I am here... Well, I am a 20 year old firefighter in Frederick, MD. I am in college getting a degree in Pre-Medicine - I want to be a physician's assistant eventually. I am very active in my community, and always like to meet new people and learn new things... This brings me to why I am here. As I said, I am a firefighter in Frederick, Maryland, and Maryland School for the Deaf is in my response area. I am hearing, and before recently I knew very little ASL. To be honest, I had not had many interactions with the Deaf community (other than playing sports against MSD in grade school). Upon my joining the city fire department, I ran a lot of calls on or around MSD, and we also do standby's at there football games. I met a lot of really nice people, and realized what a great community the Deaf community in the area is. There is honestly nobody at my firehouse who speaks much ASL past "what is your name", and I am honestly sad to say that. I decided to learn what I can not only of the language, but of the Deaf community itself. I have taken an introductory ASL course, and am taking another class for it this spring in college.

My goal in life, and the reason I am going to medical school, is to make a difference in as many people's lives as I can. I want to do so in as many forms as I can as well. Going to football standbys this fall and not being able to carry on a basic conversation with these wonderful people who gather 2 blocks from where I run fire/EMS calls was unacceptable to me, and I want to change that.

So given all that, here I am to learn from everyone here at AD, to interact with everyone, and most importantly, to make friends.

I hope that this is alright, and really hope to get to know some of you great people
:wave:

:welcome: to AllDeaf forum. Enjoy reading and posting all the threads here. See you around here. :wave: