9 year old Aided main stream child so many questions

WillsMom08

Reaction score
Hello, so mad at myself for waiting for 8 years to find this!!

My immediate issue is that My son is mild hearing loss aided bi latterly. Qualifies for no help. I have fought tooth and nail for EVERYTHING at our school. Our principal and special education adviser are kind, however under educated about his disability.

So, we are 3rd grade now, and we are chugging along. I have been saying for 4 years to anyone and everyone he can not discern words. He dosent know that when you say Fake a left he thinks you just said TAKE a left.....

I finally have had it with "it will all work out. we wont count off for those mistakes..."

I heard someone say he needs "refine discrimination" help. I wrote it down thinking I can find that.

Not having any luck on google. Can anyone point me in the direction???
thanks!!

What about enrolling him at the Deaf school?

I have wanted to do that from day one. He loves it there :) he feels like he fits in....
BUT it isnt what is best for him right now. He needs as much speech practice as he can get. He has to learn how to function in 'our world'.

Hello, so mad at myself for waiting for 8 years to find this!!

My immediate issue is that My son is mild hearing loss aided bi latterly. Qualifies for no help. I have fought tooth and nail for EVERYTHING at our school. Our principal and special education adviser are kind, however under educated about his disability.

So, we are 3rd grade now, and we are chugging along. I have been saying for 4 years to anyone and everyone he can not discern words. He dosent know that when you say Fake a left he thinks you just said TAKE a left.....

I finally have had it with "it will all work out. we wont count off for those mistakes..."

I heard someone say he needs "refine discrimination" help. I wrote it down thinking I can find that.

Not having any luck on google. Can anyone point me in the direction???
thanks!!