18 years old and I want to make a difference

ceshepherd.2012

Reaction score
Hi,
I am currently a college student and I am studying exercise science, one day I hope to become a physical therapist and hopefully I can work with the deaf. As of now I do not really know ASL but I am willing to learn and would love if someone could give me some tips on learning ASL or even help me learn it.

I have been researching Physical Therapy for the Deaf but the only one is in Texas, for some reason I dont see how that is the only one. I am hoping to one day open my own Physical Therapy place where there will be the equipment there to make communication easier between people who can hear to people who are deaf. This way making their bodies better with physical therapy and there experience a lot better.

If you could please comment that would be great! Thanks

I would start with local telephone directory or Google and looking up any ASL courses, then
finding the local Deaf Community and going there, trying to make some friends - there is a lot I am sure of what you call CODA - Children of Deaf Adults who could both sign and speak,
this way you can start learning about the wonderful Deaf Culture, their language,
and practice your ASL on the way.

However, you should be warned, Deaf pple on the account of being often
treated unfairly for just being deaf, usually are distrustful of any newcomers,
particularly if they are hearing and/or don't know ASL fluently.

Be prepared for an uphill battle.

How determined you are, will show the size of the hill :lol:

Best wishes to you :wave:

Fuzzy

What kind of PT are you talking about? Are we talking about PT for kids who are Deaf Plus, or just in general PT?

Hi. Thank you for such a quick response!

deafdyke: I want to work with the deaf, no matter if thats children or adults, wherever I am needed